Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Internet, Networking, and Wireless (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/internet-networking-wireless/)
-   -   Connecting my new iMac g3 to the internet? (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/internet-networking-wireless/42604-connecting-my-new-imac-g3-internet.html)

NeatParts 10-02-2006 10:35 AM

Connecting my new iMac g3 to the internet?
 
Hi, I've never used a mac before.

I got one of these from someone:

http://img394.imageshack.us/img394/8...berrysmgr2.jpg

And I have no idea how to connect it to the internet. I assume it's able to connect as it has an ethernet port. I tried just plugging my connection in and using the IE browser, but yeah, that didn't work.

I'm sure it's very simple and I'm just missing it, so if someone could let me know how to configure this please let me know.

Thanks,
NP

D3v1L80Y 10-02-2006 10:58 AM

If you don't have a router, you will have to reboot your modem before trying to use the iMac online.

NeatParts 10-02-2006 11:13 AM

Like a special one for Macs (I'm clueless on Macs, keep that in mind)? I have a 2wire modem, and a linksys router (I just rebooted both). Everything's all hooked up for my PC. I have one more connection slot on the router, and I ran the ethernet cable to the iMac and plugged it in. Nothing.

I get this message:
"Connecting to PPPoE..."

Then I get a cannot connect error.

D3v1L80Y 10-02-2006 12:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by NeatParts
Like a special one for Macs ....
I get this message:
"Connecting to PPPoE..."

Then I get a cannot connect error.

There is no special router or modem for Macs. They are just computers like any other. :black:
You will have to set up your connection for DHCP, not PPPoE.
What OS are you running? The setup is different for OS 9 and OS X, so if you let us know which one you are using, we can help you out getting it going.

NeatParts 10-02-2006 05:14 PM

It's OS 9.something. I don't have a keyboard at this time, so I guess it's kind of pointless. But yeah. OS 9.

D3v1L80Y 10-02-2006 05:24 PM

This link should help you set it up:

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=106867

NeatParts 10-02-2006 05:29 PM

Thanks. Bookmarked.

piedmont 10-02-2006 10:29 PM

hi oops wrong window

D3v1L80Y 10-02-2006 10:34 PM

You're welcome. :black:

dtravis7 10-02-2006 11:43 PM

The URL DB gave should help you get it working. If you still after setting everything in the TCP/IP Control Panel, it still does not work, come back and we will see what we can do. I have that Mac here with OS 9.2.2 and working on my network.

NeatParts 10-03-2006 01:12 AM

I just did run:winmsd.exe on my PC, and then got my "dhcp client address", entered that (and only that) in the internet settings of the Mac, and it was online. I assume it's safe... Thanks.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:32 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.