New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Internet, Networking, and Wireless Discussion of networking, internet, and wireless including Apple's Airport products.

Shared IP problems!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

kel95

kel95 is on a distinguished road

Hey there,

I'm a complete newbie here, but my faith is in you guys. I have some serious network trouble going on here and no one in my neighborhood seems qualified to help me.

I have a brand new Airport Time Capsule 3TB at our house which sets up a new network apart from my original router, and that signal is being extended by some TP-Link extenders. Everything works fine, except for the fact that all our mac's (and sometimes even our iPhones and iPads at the house, although they recover much faster than the computers) seem to have trouble with connecting. I get the good old exclamation mark in the wifi image stating that there is 'another device using my IP address". Signal is fine, just can't connect due to this problem.

My technical thinking doesn't go any further than renewing the DHCP lease (which works, sometimes, very limited) and turn everything on and off again, which will get it all to work for a limited amount of time again. Is there something basic I can do about this? Nothing drives me more crazy than a malfunctioning wi-fi connection :')

Details:
Macs:
Macbook Pro 13" Retina OS X 10.9.3 (late 2013)
iMac 21,5" OSX 10.9.3 (late 2009)
iMac 20" OSX 10.5.7 (early 2008)

Mobile devices:
1 iPhone 4S, 1 iPhone 5, 2 iPhone 5S
1 iPad Air