Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Internet, Networking, and Wireless (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/internet-networking-wireless/)
-   -   Airport Extreme UPNP ???? (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/internet-networking-wireless/267187-airport-extreme-upnp.html)

rooeey 02-20-2012 03:07 PM

Airport Extreme UPNP ????
 
I have a Netgear NEO 550 connected to my Airport Extreme via Ethernet but its not working i think because my Airport is not UPNP enabled...

Can any one assist with a work around for this please ???

MacsWork 02-21-2012 04:17 PM

What is not working.

"it" does not help.

rooeey 02-22-2012 04:07 AM

Yes not working...I can see the NEO in the Mac Finder but thats it ,,Cant access anything via Neo tv was told Airport extreme not UPNP supported and might be a workaroiund

mrplow 02-22-2012 06:28 AM

What are you trying to access?

Where's the media that the NEO is trying to access?

rooeey 02-22-2012 02:13 PM

I want to access online media and content from my MBP harddrive on my TV via my NEO...
Currently my NEO is isolated and can acsess nothing...It works fine as a unit set up no problem channels appear browse option settings etc but no access to anything vie the NEO...

mrplow 02-22-2012 02:18 PM

Have you shared out the folder contains your media on your Mac?

Once you have you need to go into the media locations menu on your Neo and browse to the folder on you Mac

rooeey 02-22-2012 09:38 PM

Neo
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mrplow (Post 1373274)
Have you shared out the folder contains your media on your Mac?

Once you have you need to go into the media locations menu on your Neo and browse to the folder on you Mac

Thats just it...Mac sees NEO NEO does not see MAC...Browse files nothing but NEO stuff and no net access so no content just channels ..Click on these and get no Net access .....

rooeey 02-22-2012 10:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mrplow (Post 1373274)
Have you shared out the folder contains your media on your Mac?

Once you have you need to go into the media locations menu on your Neo and browse to the folder on you Mac

Sounds like i may have missed a very small yet very important step in the process...

How do you share out the folder....I have a shared folder apear in the finder window of the mac whn i click NEO550...

mrplow 02-23-2012 01:25 AM

You can ignore the Neo on your Mac.

Here's a guide to sharing folder on a Mac:
http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1549

Once you've shared the folder with the media you want go to your Neo and at that shared folder as a location as per page 38 of the manual
ftp://downloads.netgear.com/files/NT...b11.pdf#page38

rooeey 02-23-2012 04:22 AM

Thank you MR plow will try that this weekend...

rooeey 02-24-2012 12:53 AM

aaarrrggghh
 
Hi ...Still no luck scan for media finds nothing made folder share no prob...

See image scan finds nothing checked shared folder etc ...I need i think to hack my airport extreme as its not upnp This is all i can think of

I can not access web channels via NEO either nothing gets past the router

mrplow 02-24-2012 01:05 AM

If you can 'see'/browse to the shared folder from your Neo. But the Neo doesn't find any media then that's a Neo issue not the router. If the router wasn't allowing a connection between the Neo and your Mac you would see the Mac's folder at all.
What sort of files are in there?

The web channels (not quite sure what these are) presumably pull content across the web. This could well be router config. I'll try and find the ports required by the Neo.

rooeey 02-24-2012 11:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mrplow (Post 1374080)
If you can 'see'/browse to the shared folder from your Neo. But the Neo doesn't find any media then that's a Neo issue not the router. If the router wasn't allowing a connection between the Neo and your Mac you would see the Mac's folder at all.
What sort of files are in there?

The web channels (not quite sure what these are) presumably pull content across the web. This could well be router config. I'll try and find the ports required by the Neo.

MRPLOW i found something in Mac Communities that may help but i don't know where it is...The advice was as follows >>>> Under Internet Tab select NAT > tick box > enable NSAT Portmapping Protocol...

Where do i find this Internet Tab ????

mrplow 02-25-2012 09:34 AM

Never heard of NSAT

But, here's a link to a video that shows how to setup port forwarding for an Airport Extreme. The video is for different ports than you require but just substitute the ports you need.

You'll find the ports you need here:
ftp://downloads.netgear.com/files/NT...b11.pdf#page59

It also details configuring you mac firewall

rooeey 02-25-2012 05:07 PM

ok i am getting close now i can feel it.....I have enabled DHCP & NAT Port mapping protocol under airport utility > internet....
This will {as i understand it } allow me to make the required changes you have specified...

Wish me luck will check in and let you know how i went


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:20 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.