Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Internet, Networking, and Wireless (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/internet-networking-wireless/)
-   -   Microsoft IE, what if I HAVE to? (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/internet-networking-wireless/262585-microsoft-ie-what-if-i-have.html)

VGardner 01-05-2012 12:46 PM

Microsoft IE, what if I HAVE to?
 
There's a program I really want to use for my biz, and it requires Microsfot IE 5 or later. Ugh. I've done my very best to keep all things Microsoft off of my computer (I did break down & install office, because, well... I had to do it). Will I be setting my system up for problems if I install IE on my MacBook Pro?

McBie 01-05-2012 01:07 PM

No, because the only way to setup IE on a Mac is:
a) install windows in bootcamp ( depending on your OS X version ) and boot directly to windows.
b) install windows inside a virtual machine running on OS X

Having said that, I would like to suggest that whatever app your looking at, I would look for an alternative that allows other browsers as well.

Cheers ... McBie

osxx 01-05-2012 01:07 PM

Without using Windows in either Bootcamp or a VM you can not install IE on a Mac you can however emulate IE using Develop in Safari.
If you listed the program a better response may be possible.
McBie types faster than I.

vansmith 01-05-2012 01:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by VGardner (Post 1350572)
I've done my very best to keep all things Microsoft off of my computer (I did break down & install office, because, well... I had to do it).

Why? There's nothing wrong with having MS software on your machine.

As noted, the best way to do this would be through a virtual machine or Boot Camp (both of which will require Windows). However, you could try something like CrossOver which may or may not work depending on your requirements. As osxx asked, what are you trying to view that requires IE?


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:40 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.