Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1


    Member Since
    Nov 24, 2011
    Posts
    2
    Airport Express disables network
    I have attached my Airport Express to an existing network on a Netgear WGR614v4 router using WPA-PSK security. The connection works and I am able to play music from any of my devices as expected.

    However, after some period of time -- an hour at least -- my network becomes unstable and all devices on the network lose connectivity.

    Unplugging the Airport Express immediately restores the network to good working order.

    What gives?

  2. #2

    vansmith's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 19, 2008
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    19,782
    Specs:
    2012 13" MBP (2.5 i5, 8GB)
    Why the elaborate setup?

    I'm guessing that part of the problem here has to do with the fact that you're using two routers. Can you run this network with just the AE?
    Important Links: Community Guidelines : Use the reputation system if you've been helped.
    M-F Blog :: Write for the blog
    Writing a Quality Post

  3. #3


    Member Since
    Nov 24, 2011
    Posts
    2
    Perhaps I was unclear.

    My existing network based on the Netgear router, has been there all along. I want it because I'm using both its wireless functions as well as connecting to several of its 4 switch ports.

    My intention was to configure the Airport to 'Join an existing network'.

    I am assuming that in this configuration it's not behaving as a router, just as a DHCP client. (But, I should go back and confirm this -- If it is acting as a router that would certainly create a problem).

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Using Airport Express to extend airport extreme wireless network
    By Vicstart in forum Internet, Networking, and Wireless
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-10-2012, 04:51 AM
  2. network with 2x airport Extreme, airport express, and macbook
    By slow91crx in forum Internet, Networking, and Wireless
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-06-2010, 06:10 PM
  3. Adding AirPort Express to Existing AirPort Extreme Network
    By Gutster13 in forum Internet, Networking, and Wireless
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-29-2010, 11:16 PM
  4. Help needed setting up network with Airport Extreme and Airport Express
    By dinx in forum Internet, Networking, and Wireless
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-15-2009, 12:39 PM
  5. Comcast Internet, wireless network with Airport Extreme and Airport Express(es)
    By mtimberg in forum Internet, Networking, and Wireless
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-24-2007, 12:52 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •