New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Internet, Networking, and Wireless Discussion of networking, internet, and wireless including Apple's Airport products.

iMac (airport) has hard time connecting to wireless

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

iMacSnow

iMacSnow is on a distinguished road

I'm new to the Mac world and so far so good EXCEPT for the wireless connection issue. These are the messages I get when I try to connect to a wireless signal using airport:

"AirPort does not have an IP address and cannot connect to the Internet."

"AirPort has the self-assigned IP address xxxxxxxxxxxxx and will not be able to connect to the Internet."

It usually connects after a 15-20 minute wait or sometimes I can click on "Renew DHCP Lease" and that will work but not always.

Notes:
- I'm running Snow Leopard v10.6.8.
- I have no problem connecting w/ my ipad or pc

Any suggestions?
QUOTE Thanks
pendlewitch

pendlewitch is a glorious beacon of lightpendlewitch is a glorious beacon of lightpendlewitch is a glorious beacon of lightpendlewitch is a glorious beacon of lightpendlewitch is a glorious beacon of lightpendlewitch is a glorious beacon of light
Mac Specs: iMac 27" Mid 2010, 3.2GHz Intel Core i3,4GB 1333 MHz DDR3, ATI Radeon HD5670 512MB, Mavericks 10.9.1

Hi,
Have you used the diagnostics in Network Preferences at all ?

iMac 27-inch Mid 2010, WD My Book 1TB Firewire,WD My Passport Air 500GB, Magic Mouse,Magic Trackpad,