New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Internet, Networking, and Wireless Discussion of networking, internet, and wireless including Apple's Airport products.

How to boost Mac Mini Airport signal out

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

wriley67

wriley67 is on a distinguished road

Hey. I'm a noob. I admit it. I have a Mac Mini (2007 model) and I've been happy with it for the last 3 years or so. What I want to know is how to increase or amplify the wireless signal that the Mini emits so that I can use my peripheral wireless devices further away from my Mini. I've seen some USB "repeaters" and antennas for about $100 or more, but I was thinking more like a device that I could plug in up in my attic in the center of house that would both receive the signal from my Mini and then amplify and re-send the signal to the other end of my house. Is there anything like this out there? I'm really at a loss when it comes to wireless networking and all the n's and g's and WEP's and stuff, so please keep the terminology as layman friendly as you can. Any help is appreciated. Thanks.
QUOTE Thanks
osxx

osxx is a name known to allosxx is a name known to allosxx is a name known to allosxx is a name known to allosxx is a name known to allosxx is a name known to allosxx is a name known to all
Mac Specs: 09 MBP 8GB ram 500GB HD OS 10.9 32B iPad 4 32GB iPhone 5 iOs7 2TB TC Apple TV3