New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Internet, Networking, and Wireless Discussion of networking, internet, and wireless including Apple's Airport products.

Networking iMac to MBP

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Texan78

Texan78 is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: 15" MacBook Pro 2.66 Ghz Intel Core i7 4GB 1067 MHz DDR3

Hey all sorry for the question if this has been covered before. I am still fairly new to Apple products but love them. I have been using a iMac at work for about 10 months now. I just recently last week got my first MPB to complete my Apple collection of goodies (the iPhone 4, iPad, and iPod was lonely...LoL).

Anyways I am a DJ so I am using my Macs for music and I have a networking question. I have got my new MBP connecting and seeing files on the iMac and vice versa. Problem I am having which I am not sure if it is a problem or not because I was able to do this once but not i can't. Lets say I have a file on my MBP I want to put on the iMac. I copy the file and then I locate the folder I want to put it in on the iMac and try to paste it in the folder I want it in on the iMac and I get this "The operation can't be completed because you don't have permission to modify some items" error message. I was able to do this once, but now it won't allow me to. If I want a file on my iMac from my MBP I have to go on the iMac and connect to my MBP and copy it that way and vice versa.