New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Internet, Networking, and Wireless Discussion of networking, internet, and wireless including Apple's Airport products.

Problem With Wireless Connection

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

LyGrr

LyGrr is on a distinguished road

Hi, I am currently a college student living in an awesome amazing dorm room (not). About 50% of the time when I try to connect with a wireless connection I run into problems. Just to clarify before I get into the nity grity, my roommates PC does work with the wireless connection so I know that we do indeed have wireless access in our rooms.
I bought a Macbook just before the start of the school year, so I have the most up to date processing system. When trying to look up solutions on the internet I saw a lot of stuff about "Airport Express", I do not have this, and I did not buy any other special hardware for my Mac. But the utility I use to connect wirelessly is "Airport". Sometimes the wireless connection will work just fine with no problems, but then I will close my laptop, or turn it off completely and that is when I run into problems. When I get back, I wake my Mac from sleep or power it back on, and the connection won't work because Airport will no longer be "green", it will instead be "yellow" saying that it cannot find an IP address. I looked up a solution for this and found that if I turn off the "bridge" setting on my "Airport Utility" I will no longer run into this problem.