New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Internet, Networking, and Wireless Discussion of networking, internet, and wireless including Apple's Airport products.

Can I backup data on a network drive onto my firewire HDD with Time Machine?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

hugh0616

hugh0616 is on a distinguished road

Hello, everyone.

I'm a Mac newbie and looking for your help to utilize this Time Machine application. Currently, I'm trying to backup my files on a network disk onto the designated disk for Time Machine, of course it's a physical external HDD, but it seems like Time Machine wouldn't let me do that.

I can find tons of postings about the way to backup files onto a network drive using Time Machine, but not my case.

Any technical advice for me?
QUOTE Thanks
Slydude

Slydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant future
Mac Specs: 2.8 GHz MacBook Pro 10.8,3 8 GB mem, 2.66 GHz Mac Pro - Dead, iPhone 4

I am a tad confused here. I understand that you want to make use of Time Machine I am a bit unclear about the drive that you want to use. You mentioned backing up to a network. What exactly is the drive connected to? If it is an external drive connected to something like an Airport or Time Capsule that can be done.