New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Internet, Networking, and Wireless Discussion of networking, internet, and wireless including Apple's Airport products.

need help

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

lwaltmon

lwaltmon is on a distinguished road

I just bought a g4 and was wondering how do i get internet on the ibook? I have bought an airport extreme card but dont know what else to do? do i need to buy a wireless service from a provider or can i somehow connect it with my pc at home? i am new to this and not sure what i need to get connected on my new laptop. any help would be awesome! thanks
laray
QUOTE Thanks
chas_m

chas_m has a reputation beyond reputechas_m has a reputation beyond reputechas_m has a reputation beyond reputechas_m has a reputation beyond reputechas_m has a reputation beyond reputechas_m has a reputation beyond reputechas_m has a reputation beyond reputechas_m has a reputation beyond reputechas_m has a reputation beyond reputechas_m has a reputation beyond reputechas_m has a reputation beyond repute
Mac Specs: 2012 MBP, Black speakers, Black Benq second monitor, black(ish) iPhone 5s, Black 2012 iPad, etc.

Well, let's start at the beginning. Is the airport card installed in your iBook G4?

If it is, then you're basically ready to go. Read the system help files about "airport" to learn the step-by-step of turning the card on and finding a wifi network.