New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Internet, Networking, and Wireless Discussion of networking, internet, and wireless including Apple's Airport products.

help needed, how to create network for mac and pc

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

studio68

studio68 is on a distinguished road

here's the long story: I'm a professional photographer that has just made the leap over to mac this week.

Here is the problem: I have a existing gigabit network system which utilises two 2Tb Western digital My World II (Raid 1 network drives) which is my working photo storage.

The network was run by PC's using XP and Vista. I now have two new iMacs which replace two pc's. But here is the catch, I still have a powerful laptop which I need to use on the network.

I would like to re-formatt the drives to use Apple's HFS file system, but now how do I get access to files and sharing with my Windows based laptop?????

Help please, I live in a small town in Africa and there is just about no experienced help with mac for at least 200 miles.

QUOTE Thanks
ticedoff8

ticedoff8 will become famous soon enough

Quote:
Originally Posted by studio68 View Post
here's the long story: I'm a professional photographer that has just made the leap over to mac this week.

Here is the problem: I have a existing gigabit network system which utilises two 2Tb Western digital My World II (Raid 1 network drives) which is my working photo storage.