New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Internet, Networking, and Wireless Discussion of networking, internet, and wireless including Apple's Airport products.

Slow browsing-a new twist. Thoughts?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

spiehler

spiehler is on a distinguished road

Greetings! Newbie here. Had my Mac Pro desktop for a couple of years, love it. Running Tiger (10.4.11) with 2 x 2.66 Dual Core Intel Xeon and 2GB 667 MHz DDR2. I'm a little behind on the OS because I use Pro Tools, and there's always a compatibility lag there. Waiting to make a jump. Anyhow...

I also experience the "slow internet" problem from time to time, despite my network (cable modem) being just fine. Pulling 5.31 MB/s download, 1.05 MB/s upload (speedtest.net results). My Pro is hardwired to my router(D-link) via ethernet cable.

When my Mac starts crawling online (both Safari & Firefox), as others have reported, my daughter's PC on the same network (wirelessly) will still fly right along, loading the ad & video heavy CNN.com in under 15 seconds, while the Mac chews on it for over a minute, if it decides to load it at all.

Here's the kicker (and maybe a clue?): If I start up Parallels on my Mac, and surf the 'Net from *inside* the Windows environment (Vista, using IE), the 'Net performance is BLAZING, even though the performance in the Mac OS remains snail-slow. That's right. Same computer. Same connections. Two very different experiences.