New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Internet, Networking, and Wireless Discussion of networking, internet, and wireless including Apple's Airport products.

networking my macbook and my pc?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

kingrandy

kingrandy is on a distinguished road

hi i am new to mac and was wondering if there is a way to network my macbook and my windows baced pc so i can get music and movies off my pc and on to my macbook?
thanks
QUOTE Thanks
andrewtj

andrewtj is on a distinguished road

Sure do you have both computers on a wired or wireless network already? If so, to turn on File Sharing (to other computers) on OS X head to the Sharing section of System Preferences (found via the Apple menu).

Accessing a share (unless you have changed the defaults) can be done by opening Finder and select the appropriate machine from the 'Shared' section on the left-hand pane (applies to both shares from both OS X and Windows).
QUOTE Thanks
kingrandy

kingrandy is on a distinguished road

Well the pc is wired and the MacBook is wire less
QUOTE Thanks
bobtomay

bobtomay has a reputation beyond reputebobtomay has a reputation beyond reputebobtomay has a reputation beyond reputebobtomay has a reputation beyond reputebobtomay has a reputation beyond reputebobtomay has a reputation beyond reputebobtomay has a reputation beyond reputebobtomay has a reputation beyond reputebobtomay has a reputation beyond reputebobtomay has a reputation beyond reputebobtomay has a reputation beyond repute