New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Internet, Networking, and Wireless Discussion of networking, internet, and wireless including Apple's Airport products.

Network printing with Linksys WPSM54G

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Orthodoc

Orthodoc is on a distinguished road

I am new to Macs and am trying to use my old print server. I have followed the directions as below

On Mac OS, open System Preferences and select ‘Print & Fax’. Click on the "+" icon (lower left) to add a printer. Click on the IP Printer icon (top). Select "Line Printer Daemon – LPD" and do the following:
In the Address field, enter the IP address of the Print Server.
In the Queue field, enter L1.
In the Name field, enter L1.
Select the printer manufacturer from the pull down menu.
Select the printer model from the scroll box.
Click "Add".
A window should appear showing your newly added printer "L1". Click L1 once to select it. Then click "Printer Setup" (middle right). The Printer Setup window will open. Click on the "Installable Options" pull- down menu and select "Name & Location". The Name and Location window will open. Do the following:
Change Printer Name to the IP address of Print Server
Change Location to IP_[NameOfPrintServer]P1, i.e. IP_LK32B953P1
Click on Apply Changes.

For step 11 (Location) I have used both IP_[printer server IP address]P1 and IP_WPSM54GP1 without success.

I can ping the print server, but all I get when I try to print is that the server is busy.

Can anyone help?