Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Internet, Networking, and Wireless (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/internet-networking-wireless/)
-   -   wireless to xbox 360 (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/internet-networking-wireless/108677-wireless-xbox-360-a.html)

kkelly122 05-16-2008 07:31 PM

wireless to xbox 360
 
hey guys whats up, i have what seems to be a simple question. i want to use my airport connection to bridge over to my 360 since i dont want to buy long cables or overpriced adapters. i went into sharing and enabled internet sharing but this doesnt seem to work. anyone have any suggestions or solutions?

-Kyle

skaheadpunk 05-17-2008 07:49 AM

I don't quite understand.

Do you mean you can't share files or the xbox isn't connecting to the internet?

CL33Zero 05-18-2008 04:26 AM

What I think he means, is have his MacBook share its internet connection with the Xbox via Ethernet cable. So use the MBPs wifi to pick up the signal, and then transfer it to the xbox. Right?

skaheadpunk 05-18-2008 05:21 AM

Ah, I tried that one and can't get it to work either.

jrd5172 05-18-2008 07:26 PM

I have this same set-up.
In SHARING enable Airport to share with ethernet(which you've already done.)
In NETWORK go to your ethernet connection. Go to the TCP/IP tab and turn configure IPv4: off.
Now on your XBOX 360 put in these settings:
IP address:192.168.2.2
Subnet Mask:255.255.255.0
Gateway:192.168.2.1
Primary DNS:the IP address of your wireless router.(most defaults are 192.168.1.1) You can find this on your Mac under Network>Airport>TCP/IP.
There should be a field that says router.

That should allow you to access XBOX Live, but your NAT will be moderate which means you may not be able to connect to some friends or hear their voice chat. I'm currently working on that problem.

kkelly122 05-18-2008 09:41 PM

sorry guys for being late ive been out of town,
yea im trying to access xbox live from my mbp and it isnt realy working. ill try what jrd says and ill let you guys know if it works

mcmahamg 05-19-2008 03:41 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jrd5172 (Post 657376)
I have this same set-up.
In SHARING enable Airport to share with ethernet(which you've already done.)
In NETWORK go to your ethernet connection. Go to the TCP/IP tab and turn configure IPv4: off.
Now on your XBOX 360 put in these settings:
IP address:192.168.2.2
Subnet Mask:255.255.255.0
Gateway:192.168.2.1
Primary DNS:the IP address of your wireless router.(most defaults are 192.168.1.1) You can find this on your Mac under Network>Airport>TCP/IP.
There should be a field that says router.

That should allow you to access XBOX Live, but your NAT will be moderate which means you may not be able to connect to some friends or hear their voice chat. I'm currently working on that problem.

I tried all of this, and I can't get past the DNS test. It keeps saying I failed.

takadante 05-25-2008 12:22 PM

Port forward ports 88 UDP, 3074 TCP, and 3074 UDP. This will make your NAT open and will allow incoming and outgoing connections.

AIM: josephhhali if you need help

2000one 09-01-2008 08:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jrd5172 (Post 657376)
I have this same set-up.
In SHARING enable Airport to share with ethernet(which you've already done.)
In NETWORK go to your ethernet connection. Go to the TCP/IP tab and turn configure IPv4: off.
Now on your XBOX 360 put in these settings:
IP address:192.168.2.2
Subnet Mask:255.255.255.0
Gateway:192.168.2.1
Primary DNS:the IP address of your wireless router.(most defaults are 192.168.1.1) You can find this on your Mac under Network>Airport>TCP/IP.
There should be a field that says router.

That should allow you to access XBOX Live, but your NAT will be moderate which means you may not be able to connect to some friends or hear their voice chat. I'm currently working on that problem.

the same setup applies to me.
i can get open nat settings when i plug directly into my time capsule and all settings automatic.
moderate settings via airport to ethernet internet sharing.

ARE THERE ANY NEWS REGARDING THIS PROBLEM!??

thank you!!!

mikea1 12-02-2009 11:28 AM

First post in an almost 2 year old thread, but have there been any developments in being able to get the NAT to read as Open? I have googled my brains out here and can't find an answer, so rather than make a new thread, I'll bump this old one instead.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:14 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.