New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Internet, Networking, and Wireless Discussion of networking, internet, and wireless including Apple's Airport products.

Wi-fi spots where?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

MrRich

MrRich is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: iBook G4 256MB 1.33 GHz, 60GB hard drive, airport extreme, combo drive. Also own a PM G4. Old Skool

I hope wi-fi is the right word. I'm a total newb when it comes to wireless internet. I don't even have my new iBook yet.

Anyway I have a simple question I hope. How do you know what stores, places in a city, (so outside a store) and anywhere else have a wireless network?

Is there a website to check, like some sort of directory?
QUOTE Thanks
Aptmunich

Aptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant future
Mac Specs: Aluminium Macbook 2.4 Ghz 4GB RAM, SSD 24" Samsung Display, iPhone 4, iPad 2

They normally have a sign up somewhere.

For example: The san francisco coffee bar near university has a sign on the counter offering wifi services free with a large beverage or for a few 's per hour...

My university has green signs up at certain points indicating wifi coverage...

Most likely you'll just see a sign.. I don't know of any directory...