New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Internet, Networking, and Wireless Discussion of networking, internet, and wireless including Apple's Airport products.

Routers and ports

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

W.A.Crider

W.A.Crider is on a distinguished road

Newbie here. I'm working on a PC G3 and wanted to set the machine up to serve but ran into problems with my DSL router provided by my local phone company. Apparently there's not a port 80, or any other port for that matter that will allow traffic. I ran a test thru Probe My Ports to find this out so am now wondering if it's possible to just change the router or if they are specific to the service.

I'm not looking to go into the server business, just to have my own web site and in the meantime to serve up some jpg's of things I'm selling on other forums I take part in.
QUOTE Thanks
Aptmunich

Aptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant future
Mac Specs: Aluminium Macbook 2.4 Ghz 4GB RAM, SSD 24" Samsung Display, iPhone 4, iPad 2