New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Internet, Networking, and Wireless Discussion of networking, internet, and wireless including Apple's Airport products.

Network stops working

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

29PalmsMark

29PalmsMark is on a distinguished road

Good day everyone,

I'm brand new to the world of Mac's and I'm having a problem I hope someone can resolve for me. I've been a pc person since the days of having to start the machines with a floppy disk and I'm stumped with the problem I'm having right now.

Here's the deal, I live out in the sticks, well actually among the Tarantulas and tumbleweeds and a hard wired internet connection is out of the question so I've been using a Verizon wireless card in my PC laptop for a long time without any problems.

My girlfriend shows up with her G3 a while back so I grab a spare PC laptop from the office and setup the internet sharing wizard so she can surf the web. We have some success with this arrangement but something with the G3 kept crapping up the internet pc and causing the Verizon access program on the internet pc to stop responding or her laptop would just decide that it didn't know how to talk to the internet anymore until I rebooted the internet PC. If I just slaved my other pc to the internet pc it would work fine for as long as I needed, so we just dealt with it until I could get a chance to figuring out what was wrong.

Flash forward a couple of weeks: