Thread: MacBook and CS3

MacBook and CS3
    I'm considering my first Mac after years of PC use. I've used several different Macs at school friends house etc, but I've never owned one. I'm a hobbiest level photographer and I'm wondering if a Macbook will be powerful enough to run CS3 and Lightroom. That is my current workflow on a my PC and I would hate to lose performance just because I was to cheap to spring for the MBP. Does anyone have experience running these 2 programs on a Macbook. (I'm looking at getting the black version maxed out in Ram)

Thanks,

MB

Specs:
    Black Macbook 2ghz C2D, 2gig Ram, 120gig HD / 60gig Black Ipod Video / 2nd Gen Ipod Shuffle
    i'm a hobbyist photographer as well and use lightroom and cs3 on my macbook with no problems what so ever, they run flawlessly.
    CPU 2ghz C2D Black Mackbook/2gigs Ram/120gigHDD
    Camera Canon Digital Rebel XT (350D)
    Lenses Canon 18mm-55mm/100mm Macro/75-300mm/70-200f/4L/10-22 UWA
    Check Out My Work

Specs:
    iMac G5
    I sometimes use both lightroom and Photoshop CS2 (I suspect CS3 would run similar) on my white Macbook with 256 RAM (or whatever it came with in the box)

Anyways, from my experience, Lightroom worked great and did not hog all that much CPU power. Photoshop worked well however, if you forget an external mouse it can be a big pain. Render time took about 1.5 - 2 times longer than it does on my iMac G5 which, is expected considering the difference in specs.
    Xbox Live Gamertag:tr00p3rls

WoW Account (Demon Soul-Horde): Cabøøse

Specs:
    Black Macbook 2ghz C2D, 2gig Ram, 120gig HD / 60gig Black Ipod Video / 2nd Gen Ipod Shuffle
    cs3 runs better on the macbooks than cs2 because cs3 has implemented the intel processors into it.
    CPU 2ghz C2D Black Mackbook/2gigs Ram/120gigHDD
    Camera Canon Digital Rebel XT (350D)
    Lenses Canon 18mm-55mm/100mm Macro/75-300mm/70-200f/4L/10-22 UWA
    Check Out My Work

Specs: