New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Images, Graphic Design, and Digital Photography Discussion of all things graphics.

Trying to shoot photos tethered to OS 10.8

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Skyship

Skyship is on a distinguished road

As a professional photographer I use Phase One software to shoot studio shots and process them on a Macbook Pro. My cameras and software worked fine on my previous Macbook with Snow Leopard, and even my older cameras currently perform without fault on my G5 even with the pre-intel processor (a combination that isn't even recommended by the Phase One software).
I cannot, to my frustration, get any transfer of images from camera to computer using a doner Macbook Pro with Mountain Lion running the guts. My Phase One software freezes and the computer gets unpleasantly hot. Many of my fellow snappers have also expressed frustration with upgrade incompatibilities.
There are rather a lot of people like myself on the planet trying to make a living taking pictures and reliant on computers and software. Having to consider a downgrade to a previous operating system in order to keep things running does not make new upgrades seem to be in the consumers interest.
QUOTE Thanks
harryb2448