Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Images, Graphic Design, and Digital Photography (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/images-graphic-design-digital-photography/)
-   -   Alternative to Fireworks or photoshop (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/images-graphic-design-digital-photography/298965-alternative-fireworks-photoshop.html)

ienakiko 05-15-2013 03:52 AM

Alternative to Fireworks or photoshop

Hi

I am a web designer

I would like to buy an app for MAC, similar to Fireworks or photoshop.

I know that the Adobe programs are unbeatable, but can you suggest me good app for editing images and creating web design stuff?

Thanks a lot!!!

Raz0rEdge 05-15-2013 09:53 AM

Check out Pixelmator

Deckyon 05-15-2013 10:44 AM

+1 for Pixelmator. It is getting great reviews across the tech feeds. Some even lauding it as a complete Photoshop replacement. If you are used to Photoshop, Pixelmator should be very easy to step into.

louishen 05-15-2013 02:20 PM

+1 for Pixelmator, its a great app and that's coming from someone who uses PhotoShop for a living

ienakiko 05-16-2013 12:55 AM

ok thanks a lot!

but what do you think about gimp??? pixelmator is better??

Raz0rEdge 05-16-2013 07:15 AM

Gimp is free and a bit more complicated to learn to use. It, however, does have a lot of features that match PS. Pixelmator has a much more polished look..

Try gimp out and if it doesn't work for you, go with PoxelMator.

ienakiko 05-16-2013 07:34 PM

ok I will stick with pixelmator

thanks

piddley 05-24-2013 04:14 PM

Can Pixelmator do RGB to CMYK colour conversion and other pro stuff like that...? I recently had to let my PS go and I have been struggling with Gimp.. Its ok but just so not user friendly. I have plenty of artwork and the printing service I use, print24, require all files in CMYK to guarantee good results.

CrimsonRequiem 05-24-2013 06:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by piddley (Post 1517069)