New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Images, Graphic Design, and Digital Photography Discussion of all things graphics.

reference image library organizer?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

kevintk

kevintk is on a distinguished road

(wasn't sure to post in here or OS X section)

I recently got a Power Mac tower to work on for digital art, and have a question regarding folders.

As a digital artist, I am trying to find software that will act as a visual library of reference images that I can store thousands of images in. I wanted a program that had a "folder tree structure" that becomes more and more specific. But these programs do not store images, they access the machine to pull up images.

So my question is: Would it be harmful or hindering to the computer to have folder upon folder upon folder holding hundreds, possibly thousands of images? I am not sure of any other way to create a refined and organized library of reference images. I would use iphoto, but it does not have the "tree" style of organization.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.
QUOTE Thanks
kevintk

I am looking to get a program for my mac that will store and organize thousands of photos. But it can not be a general photo storer like iPhoto, it must be a very specific organizer that can create layer upon layer of specific categories. As a digital artist, I have a lot of reference photos for drawing, but I need a program in which I can section off and store specific things. For example, it would need to be like this: