New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Images, Graphic Design, and Digital Photography Discussion of all things graphics.

Screen Resolution on Macbook Pro through Mini Display

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

sjp1982

sjp1982 is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: MacBook Pro 15", iPhone 4, iPad 8gb Wifi

Hi,

Firstly, this is my first time posting on these forums so I hope my question has found the right bracket for this.

I am currently the proud owner of a Macbook Pro 15" from 2009 and I have never had any problems with the piece, just until now. I usually have it connected to a Samsung 32" screen when I am at home and through the mini display - HDMI it has been running flawlessly for about a year.

A couple of days ago I had some internet connectivity issues and switched my laptop off and on a couple of times in an attempt to fix it (with success I might add) but for some reason my screen resolution to the Samsung screen has suddenly dropped as a result. Regardless of the settings I try I get a grainy image on the screen, definitely not a 1080p output. I have tried different HDMI cables, different HDMI ports.... I have even taken the computer to work to try a different TV! Still the same grainy image. I cannot for the life of me figure out why this has suddenly dropped in the output. The screen on the laptop itself is fine, it's only when connected to an external source.

Anyone have any ideas?
QUOTE Thanks
bobtomay