New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Images, Graphic Design, and Digital Photography Discussion of all things graphics.

Monitor options for photo editing

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

sassafras

Hi, I currently have an iBook and am looking to upgrade to a Mac desktop. The only problem is that I am an aspiring digital photographer and have heard from some other photographers in the past that as far as color management/correction is concerned, I should stay away from LCD screens and stick to CRT monitors. Does anyone know if theory still stands? I know that I have seen color management systems that say they can be used for CRT and LCD, but I am a little skeptical. I know that I could go for the Power Mac and just hook up a CRT monitor to it, but I am wondering if I can get away with the less-expensive, space-saving option of getting an iMac. Any help is greatly appreciated!
QUOTE Thanks
Tel

As an aspiring digital photographer myself, I thought the same thing. There are lots of articles on the Apple website that will help you though: http://www.apple.com/uk/pro/design/taylorjames/ for example.

Also, my dad works for a major printing firm that runs on Macs, I've set my macs ColorSync to match him Mac at work and he has printed my photos out perfectly at A2. See http://www.apple.com/pro/training/colorsync/
QUOTE Thanks
speedydave