New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

 
Start a Discussion
 

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Images, Graphic Design, and Digital Photography Discussion of all things graphics.

how to make changes in Aperture 3 then applied to hard drive?


Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

 
Thread Tools
slowlycooked

 
Member Since: Jun 02, 2010
Posts: 4
slowlycooked is on a distinguished road

slowlycooked is offline
e.g. if you delete a picture in aperture 3, it won't delete the original photo on the hard drive.
QUOTE Thanks
tiger roach

 
tiger roach's Avatar
 
Member Since: Apr 16, 2009
Location: Houston, TX USA
Posts: 189
tiger roach has a spectacular aura about
Mac Specs: iMac 24-inch 3.06GHz

tiger roach is offline
That is designed behavior. Aperture is all about protecting your master file for each shot (wherever it is stored). When you make edits, it doesn't actually change the master file either. And when you delete (or move a shot to Aperture's trash) you are only removing it from the Aperture library. The master file, as always, remains untouched.
QUOTE Thanks
slowlycooked

 
Member Since: Jun 02, 2010
Posts: 4
slowlycooked is on a distinguished road

slowlycooked is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by tiger roach View Post
That is designed behavior. Aperture is all about protecting your master file for each shot (wherever it is stored). When you make edits, it doesn't actually change the master file either. And when you delete (or move a shot to Aperture's trash) you are only removing it from the Aperture library. The master file, as always, remains untouched.
in this case Aperture is not the way for me.
QUOTE Thanks
mrsausages

 
Member Since: Apr 21, 2010
Posts: 10
mrsausages is on a distinguished road

mrsausages is offline
Hi there,

Are you using referenced masters? (do a google search for "aperture referenced vs managed if you are not sure!)

If you are using referenced masters, when you empty Aperture trash, you should see an option "Move referenced masters to system trash" that you can tick - this will remove the photos from the hard drive as you mentioned.

Hope this helps!
QUOTE Thanks
slowlycooked

 
Member Since: Jun 02, 2010
Posts: 4
slowlycooked is on a distinguished road

slowlycooked is offline
i shall check on master vs referenced
QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


« Can I display work on my site containing stock graphics | iPhoto crash after migration »
Thread Tools

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Disk Utility won't recognize new hard drive Veshta777 Apple Notebooks 2 10-08-2009 11:12 PM
hard drive swap younca Apple Notebooks 4 06-23-2009 09:45 PM
Help moving iTunes to External Hard Drive ange Other Hardware and Peripherals 0 12-02-2008 03:56 AM
DIY: Trick out your Intel Mini kaidomac Apple Desktops 53 02-17-2007 02:40 AM
Considering upgrading your hard drive? kaidomac Apple Notebooks 6 07-19-2006 12:41 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:33 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
X

Welcome to Mac-Forums.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this community the ultimate source for your Mac since 2003!


(4 digit year)

Already a member?