New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Images, Graphic Design, and Digital Photography Discussion of all things graphics.

Import to iphoto or another file

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Dave Allen

Dave Allen is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: iMac (2.8 Ghz and 2 gb memory)& MacBook

Hi

I am a newbie to the mac and want to try to get things right first time (which will be new for me). When importing my photos should I allow iphoto to import them or (as I will be using Photoshop CS4) just import them to a file for photoshop. I have ordered photoshop but haven't got it yet so no chance to play yet. Also does iphoto in any way degrade the image.

thanks

Dave
QUOTE Thanks
challiman@aol.c

challiman@aol.c is on a distinguished road

Dave, I'd like to follow this thread as I am a Mac owner 4 days now and have MANY photos to import and not sure what would be best, either. Mind if I tag along?
QUOTE Thanks
skybolt

skybolt has a spectacular aura about
Mac Specs: White 2010 MB, Core 2 Duo, 8g RAM, iPhone 4S, iPad Mini, Apple TV

Doyou anticipate using iPhoto for your organizing and browsing? If so, then you can let iPhoto import your photos (check in preferences for import to iPhoto folder - not at the mac right now so can't remember the exact wording). Then also in preferences, set Photoshop as your external editor. Then, when you want to edit a photo, PS will open, you can edit and iPhoto will save the photo right back where it belongs. No need to have duplicates in separate files.

Mary