New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Images, Graphic Design, and Digital Photography Discussion of all things graphics.

Some questions about iPhoto

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

katelouise

katelouise is on a distinguished road

Hi, I'm a newb to this forum! Okay so I am an avid photographer and have hundreds of photos which I have uploaded onto my Mac! When I used to use a PC, I would just have my photographs in folders in my documents. Now that I have a Macbook, I store all of my photos in iPhoto. Now, I know that iPhoto makes files of the photos when you import them from a camera, but these files are inaccessible unless you control-click and select "show file." I was wondering how reliable these files would be, and if maybe I should make regular files of my photos in my documents to be safe. I don't know much about these things, but I keep thinking that if something happened to the iPhoto program I would lose all my photos because you can't get to the files it creates of them without opening the program. But then again what would happen if my Macbook crashed! I really need to start investigating good ways to back-up all of my photos.

If anybody has any suggestions, ideas or info on this topic it would be greatly appreciated.
QUOTE Thanks
dflint

dflint is on a distinguished road