New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus • Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts • Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Images, Graphic Design, and Digital Photography Discussion of all things graphics.

non-intel iMac g5 vs. Mac Pro

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

gheller

gheller is on a distinguished road

OK, Newbie alert.

I am a freelance digital photographer who recently moved to Mac. I was running a shuttle that I built with lots of RAM and a 10K speed HD.

I got a used non-intel iMac G5 (2 GB RAM) and it is a DAWG. Just opening files in CS2 is maddening.

I am about to upgrade. Will the latest iMac packed with RAM make me happy or do I have to bite the bullet and go to a Mac Pro?

Also, where is the best place to purchase online aftermarket RAM?

Thanks so much in advance.

greg
QUOTE Thanks
Blizare

Blizare can only hope to improve
Mac Specs: Mac Pro 14gb ram 24" LED Cd & 23" Cd

how fast is the processor on the G5? Most are upgradable to 8 gb ram and that would help But if you ahve a slow processor an upgrade there mught be in order. Still less than a new imac. Or buy a 24" imac and you'll be happy enough. I open 750mb files on my imac at home with 4gb of ram. I cant render filters or effects. I save that for the dual processor mac pro 14gb ram. It does'nt stumble at all but it cost an arm and 3 fingers on the other hand.

Only when you understand why you dismiss all other gods, will you then realize why I dismiss yours

-MacPro-Macbook Air-IMac-Mac Mini-Powerbook Ti-
QUOTE Thanks
gheller

Thanks for the info.
QUOTE Thanks
gheller

Thanks to all