Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Specs:
    15" Matte Macbook Pro 2.5Ghz 4gb RAM 250gb HD, 60gb iPod Classic maxed, iPod shuffle
    DSLR + dark shot w/ LED light
    Hi everyone...I am new to the use of DRLR and i was experimenting with holding an LED light in a pitch black room and putting my camera on a tripod and opening then lens for about 10 seconds. It looks cool and I can write because it absorbs all that light...but it is extremely out of focus....how do i go about fixing this so its in focus?

thanks!
    Loving my MBP more and more everyday

Specs:
    MacBook Pro Unibody
    The easiest way is to usually set the aperture as low as it will go, this will make much more of the shot in focus (f/22 or something like that). Normally you would need a longer shot for this, but with light-writing it's not usually a problem.

Also, try and pre-focus on something with the light on.
    masakatsu agatsu

@lifeafter2am

Specs:
    20" iMac 2.66 GHz... Running 10.5.7
    Aperture is simply the size of the hole that lets the light in, it won't directly affect the focus. Put an object right where you will be standing, and focus (of course you should have the light on. Then open shutter and shoot. Good luck.

Can you provide us with the result, too?
    Flickr

Last.fm
    Si, hablo Espa˝ol. Oui, je parle franšais. Yes, I speak English.

Specs:
    MacBook Pro Unibody
    Quote Originally Posted by BlueMac View Post
    Aperture is simply the size of the hole that lets the light in, it won't directly affect the focus. Put an object right where you will be standing, and focus (of course you should have the light on. Then open shutter and shoot. Good luck.

Can you provide us with the result, too?
    ARE YOU KIDDING??? Aperture affects the DOF, with a smaller aperture there is a large DOF, which in turn gives a larger range of focus. Which in this case is perfect because there is no exact location for focus.
    masakatsu agatsu

@lifeafter2am

Specs: