Aperture or Elements?
    I have recently made the move form PC to Mac and one of my major interests is photography/imaging--on the PC I have limited experience with Photoshop Elements and am now trying to decide which photo/imaging software to go with on the Mac (24" Imac). While I know a bit about Elements on the PC side of things, its not enough to make me stick with Elements for the Mac.

It seems to me that Aperture and Elements are pretty close in terms of functionality/capabilities relative to image editing, RAW work etc---can anyone offer thoughts/comments on which might be better than the other or info on your experiences with one/both?

(PS--I am aware of the Iphoto, simply looking for more capabilities/functionality.)

Thanks!

Specs:
    15" MBP, Core i7/2GHz, 8GB RAM, 480GB Crucial M500 SSD
    Quote Originally Posted by weatherman View Post
    I have recently made the move form PC to Mac and one of my major interests is photography/imaging--on the PC I have limited experience with Photoshop Elements and am now trying to decide which photo/imaging software to go with on the Mac (24" Imac). While I know a bit about Elements on the PC side of things, its not enough to make me stick with Elements for the Mac.

It seems to me that Aperture and Elements are pretty close in terms of functionality/capabilities relative to image editing, RAW work etc---can anyone offer thoughts/comments on which might be better than the other or info on your experiences with one/both?

(PS--I am aware of the Iphoto, simply looking for more capabilities/functionality.)

Thanks!
    I like Elements quite a bit on the Windows side of things, but I have to admit that I haven't really ventured far from iPhoto on the Mac as it does almost everything I need it to do with photos. I do use a program called "Pixelmator" for touchups, and I've often heard people recommend it in place of Elements.