Specs:
    iMac 27"| iPhone 4
    What system is in place to draw in new members?
    I look at the currently active users and I see 38 members and 1500 guests. I'm going to assume that all/most of these guests are owners of Apple products and have searched google for a problem that they might be having and this forum has came up. Whatever Apple product they own whether it be a Mac/iPhone/iPod they will most likely find a solution/answer and leave. But what if something could be done to draw in these guests and expand the forum even more. I'm not sure if anything is being done at the moment but this forum has so much potential to expand. I'm no expert but perhaps something simple telling them that they could have any of their problems and uncertainties answered to by taking a few seconds to join up to the forum. Although many will join, ask all their questions and then not login again until they have more problems, some will not. They will stay with the forum and start posting around, maybe even helping others out with things they know about. Just my thoughts.

Specs:
    15" MBP, Core i7/2GHz, 8GB RAM, 480GB Crucial M500 SSD
    I would venture to guess that 80% of those guests are search engine spiders.

Unfortunately, some people just don't grok the "community" aspect of web forums. They see them as a resource for troubleshooting and help, but could care less about the social aspect of the forum. I can't tell you how many people I see who come here to post a question, expect an immediate answer, and then never return again. I guess there's nothing wrong with that as long as the person is appreciative, but not everyone is a computer enthusiast and the only time they care about the underpinnings of a machine is when there is a problem.