New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

 
Start a Discussion
 

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Archival Forum All the old stuff

Airtunes...Airport Express... How?


Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

 
Thread Tools
MacManc
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

I was wondering about running music to my receiver wireless by employing my airport. First starters, do I have to buy the connector from Mac for 40 bucks or is there a cheaper alternative (the monster cable thing that connects the airport to the receiver)? Secondly, are there any requirements for the receiver to be able to play the airtunes (like watts per channel...sensitivity etc.)? Any other info that you think would be neccessary it would be much appreciated. Also, I am in the market for a new stereo receiver do you have any suggestions for a solid receiver? Thanks alot
QUOTE Thanks
xthisisRomancex
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

#1) no you can use a $4.00 cable from walmart. or any other 1/8inch to RCA "Y" cable
QUOTE Thanks
djlee12

 
djlee12's Avatar
 
Member Since: Dec 18, 2004
Posts: 542
djlee12 has a spectacular aura about

djlee12 is offline
The Airport Express should work w/ out any specific requirments, if I'm not mistaken. It should be as simple as plug and play, it's just sending an audio signal into your stereo.

DJ Lee

Watts Up Productions
www.wattsupproductions.com
QUOTE Thanks
MacManc
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

So I could do it with any receiver that has a free A/V outlet?
QUOTE Thanks
IChing
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacManc
So I could do it with any receiver that has a free A/V outlet?
Yes no problem, the cables you can buy anywhere. I have it and it's great being able to control the volume and tunes from anywhere in my place with my powerbook

This post is in the wrong section.
QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


« Looking for a Screensaver | CD playing problem! »
Thread Tools

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
do you need an airport card for airport express? emoglitterati Internet, Networking, and Wireless 11 12-21-2005 06:26 PM
Difference between Airport and Airport Express biggerstronger Internet, Networking, and Wireless 3 04-25-2005 11:11 PM
Adding Airport Express To Linksys Gamer Internet, Networking, and Wireless 2 12-30-2004 07:29 PM
Airport Express & Marriott high speed miggles Internet, Networking, and Wireless 1 08-19-2004 09:18 PM
Need help with Airport Express & College Network SilverBeetle Internet, Networking, and Wireless 0 07-21-2004 08:09 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:53 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
X

Welcome to Mac-Forums.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this community the ultimate source for your Mac since 2003!


(4 digit year)

Already a member?