New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

Delicate Situation

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

MacNoob

Hey folks -

I am a total noob when it comes to Macs. A few months ago, I bought a used iBook to use as my personal computer. It uses OSX and I've been learning my way around it. I've used it for surfing, Word docs, downloads, email, etc.

Here's my question:

I'd like to use it for my job, since all my bosses use Macs. My supervisor wants to take my iBook for a weekend and install some things necessary for my job, and since I'm a total novice with computers, it's a reasonable request. Problem is, he and I don't always get along so well, and mostly because he's the paranoid, back-stabbing type of employee. He's extremely proficient with Mac stuff, and I'm very conerned he'll spend a great deal of time snooping around for stuff to use against me in the future.

I don't have anything substantial to worry about, but like most, folks, I've downloaded some mpegs and browsed som websites I'd rather not have all my co-workers know about.

Everything's been cleared from my trash bin, and I only use Safari and have reset it. Can someone tell me how else to protect my privacy here?

Thanks!
QUOTE Thanks
m1k

Try this: http://www.apple.com/downloads/macos.../shreditx.html . Or this: http://www.apple.com/downloads/macos...rscrubber.html