Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Apple Notebooks (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-notebooks/)
-   -   For those who upgraded your MB to 4gb of Ram.. (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-notebooks/94802-those-who-upgraded-your-mb-4gb-ram.html)

Chrisblaze 01-30-2008 07:32 AM

For those who upgraded your MB to 4gb of Ram..
 
Can tell the difference between 2gb of Ram and 4gb of Ram?

Flyer729 01-30-2008 11:07 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chrisblaze (Post 583785)
Can tell the difference between 2gb of Ram and 4gb of Ram?

I upgraded yesterday from 1 to 4gb. So far I have noticed a slight increase in performance doing everyday things like web surfing, playing music and email. Now, using parallels is a different story. The session of win xp is way faster than it was before. I just got th upgrade because it was so cheap, I don't think I'll use all of it any time soon.

Hope this helps...

cwa107 01-30-2008 11:22 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chrisblaze (Post 583785)
Can tell the difference between 2gb of Ram and 4gb of Ram?

You can tell if you need more memory by doing the following:

1. Open your most commonly used applications simultaneously.
2. Open Activity Monitor (Applications => Utilities)
3. Click the System Memory tab:

http://home.comcast.net/~cwa107/foru...01-30_1029.png

There is a common misconception among some computer users that adding more memory always adds more speed. This is simply not true. Adding more memory when your needs exceed your physical amount of memory can add performance - otherwise, it's just a waste of money and energy.

tmorgan1689 01-30-2008 11:46 AM

Haha I have 27mb free, I need to get another stick.

cwa107 01-30-2008 11:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tmorgan1689 (Post 583891)
Haha I have 27mb free, I need to get another stick.

What about inactive (blue)?

Also note that new Macs have dual channel support, so you want to install the modules in matched pairs for best performance.

kgeier82 01-30-2008 12:10 PM

going from 2-4gb most people wont use the extra.

i do, for my VM, so yes, i can tell a difference. But again, most people will simply not need more than 2GB for another year or two.

built b16a 01-30-2008 09:26 PM

http://www.tamparacing.com/photopost...ty_monitor.png

i dont' have EVERYTHING open, but i have my normal applications running that i use.

am i a good candidate for another GB or 2?

D3v1L80Y 01-30-2008 09:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by built b16a (Post 584330)
http://www.tamparacing.com/photopost...ty_monitor.png

i dont' have EVERYTHING open, but i have my normal applications running that i use.

am i a good candidate for another GB or 2?

Based on what you have posted, no.
You still have almost 30% of your physical RAM free, plus over 700 MB of Inactive RAM.
When added together, you have over half of your total system RAM unused.

Adding more won't make much of a difference and would be a waste.

cwa107 01-30-2008 09:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by D3v1L80Y (Post 584334)
Based on what you have posted, no.
You still have almost 30% of your physical RAM free, plus over 700 MB of Inactive RAM.
When added together, you have over half of your total system RAM unused.

Adding more won't make much of a difference and would be a waste.

Agreed. I tried to make it simple by saying that if there is a lot of "green", everything is OK. This assumes that you've rebooted your machine since you fired up all of your programs to assess your usage. Inactive memory is memory that had been allocated previously, but would be made available if necessary. After a reboot, there should be little or no memory tagged "inactive".

D3v1L80Y 01-30-2008 10:02 PM

This article on Apple's site should help clear things up for some.

MACGIRL34 01-30-2008 10:12 PM

How about me? Do I need more than 1 GB? I have a brand new 2GB stick that came with my macbook yesterday. Can I use that?http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/f...Picture1-3.png

cwa107 01-30-2008 11:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MACGIRL34 (Post 584367)
How about me? Do I need more than 1 GB? I have a brand new 2GB stick that came with my macbook yesterday. Can I use that?[/IMG]

Much of that memory is inactive, yielding about 411MB total available. It's certainly not a desperate situation. But if you already have the extra memory, it wouldn't hurt to install it either.

MACGIRL34 01-30-2008 11:30 PM

I was told only to use equal sticks of ram. I only have the one stick of 2gb. Would that be ok?

kenbrinkman 01-31-2008 12:19 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Yeah, I think I went a little overboard... but 2X2GB dual channel was only $79 bucks on newegg.com! Couldn't resist.

And what's virtual memory, I never fully understood it.

MACGIRL34 01-31-2008 12:25 AM

Someone on here said that you really only use 3GB of the 4GB as far as seeing any difference that is...not sure if it's true or not.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:20 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.