New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

MacBook - Opinions: Macbook or Macbook Pro?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Jez

Jez is on a distinguished road

Hello i wonder if you good folks would help me out with some opinions on what Mac i should get next?

I am a freelance web developer, so use mostly Dreamweaver, Photoshop and Illustrator. Being freelance i am at 2 different places throughout the week so thinking a laptop would be handy to take to both and keep all the work on it.

Now i like how small the macbook is but am concerned with the power of it? Thus looking at the macbook pro but not so keen on its size.

At home where i work part of the week, i have a MacMini (MacMini G4 1.42G 512RAM ) which is fine just alittle slow when say i have photoshop, dw and illustrator open. The rest of the week i use an iMac with 2Ghz intel core and 1Gig of Ram and find it quite quick with no problems.

So what would be best, would a macbook be quick enough or not? I used one for some work with low specs and it was slow, would a higher spec one be ok or should i really just ignore that and go straight for a Macbook pro?

Thanks for any opinions
QUOTE Thanks
D3v1L80Y