Mobile PhD
    Fresh start on a G3(Need help)
    Can anyone help me find where to download The newest free version of the Mac OS? Someone told me that Apple has it on their site, but I cannot find it. I only have a working PC to download it with, so it has to be able to be burned to a CD and used in the G3. Also, can you download a disc image to burn to install the OS with? I am totally new to Mac's, but I am very experienced with PC's and looking for a new challenge. Any help anybody can give would be truely appreciated. Thanks

Specs:
    14" iBook G3 900/640/40 _ _ Power Macintosh G3 All-In-One 315/768/20 _ _ 20 GB iPod
    Quote Originally Posted by Mobile PhD
    Can anyone help me find where to download The newest free version of the Mac OS? Someone told me that Apple has it on their site, but I cannot find it. I only have a working PC to download it with, so it has to be able to be burned to a CD and used in the G3. Also, can you download a disc image to burn to install the OS with? I am totally new to Mac's, but I am very experienced with PC's and looking for a new challenge. Any help anybody can give would be truely appreciated. Thanks
    There are no free versions of the Mac OS. If you already have an installation CD, there are most likely free update downloads for that, but regardless, you still need a functional installation CD first.
    ~ Support the LANCE ARMSTRONG FOUNDATION -- LAF.org ~

Do you drive a Civic, Del Sol, or Integra & want more power & tighter steering feel? Click here for my inexpensive DIY Power-Steering Removal Kits.

Mobile PhD
    Quote Originally Posted by Padawan
    There are no free versions of the Mac OS. If you already have an installation CD, there are most likely free update downloads for that, but regardless, you still need a functional installation CD first.
    Is there anywhere I can get a cheap Mac OS install CD. And is there a specific version you would recomend?

Matt