New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

MacBook Pro - 15: vs 17" NEW versions? Help!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

controversleigh

controversleigh is on a distinguished road

Hey guys. I need some help. I'm not a serious techie. I don't know much of the jargin cept for basic info on Hard Drives, RAM, etc. Keeping that in mind, I hope you can help.

I'm getting a MacBook Pro. I've seen many of the age old 15" vs 17" MBP discussions, problem is they are over a year old. Awhile back everybody said that the diff between them was that the 17 had an 8x instead of a 4x and had more RAM/faster speed. Ok but over at the Apple website I see that the specs now SEEM to be the exact same for the the $2499 15" and the $2799 17". So my question is....is it the same in every way? If these two machines have the EXACT same specs, performance capabilities, features, etc. in EVERY way and the ONLY difference is the screen size, then I will downgrade without second thought. Screen size doesn't matter to me. Money isn't the issue here at all either. I'll be using it for serious web design and some hardcore video editing. So I asked for the 17" after reading how the 15" is a bit slower, lesser in capabilities and features, etc.