New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

How do I upgrade RAM?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

PrincessM

I have a 15" Powerbook with 256mb of ram and I'm looking to upgrade to maybe two 512 sticks. I don't know if two is necassary, but I am a graphic design student and I run big programs like Photoshop & Illustrator and I need as much ram as I can get I suppose. How do I install the memory? Do I need a certain type of screw driver? Can I have one 256 stick and one 512 stick in the machine?
QUOTE Thanks
rman

rman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud of
Mac Specs: 2 x 3.0GHz Quad-Core, 6GB OS X 10.6.8 | 15in MacBook Pro 2.2GHz OS X 10.6.8 | 64GB iPad 2 WiFi

You can have one 256 and one 512 stick to make a total of 768. I currently have 768 in my powerbook.

If your powerbook it like mine, all you need is a small screwdriver (jewelers screwdriver would work too). On my powerbook the memory is located under the keyboard. You must left out the keyboard to install the memory.

You can check Apple's site for installing memory or google it.

Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass, It's about learning to dance in the rain!
QUOTE Thanks
TylerMoney