Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Apple Notebooks (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-notebooks/)
-   -   MacBook Pro memory upgrade (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-notebooks/60694-macbook-pro-memory-upgrade.html)

Charlotte_RG 04-27-2007 04:35 AM

MacBook Pro memory upgrade

Hi

I'm studying graphic design in college, and I've had my PC for 4 years. I'm now thinking of buying a MacBook Pro 15": 2,16 GHz.
It comes with 1 GB RAM, I was thinking of buying it with an extra 1 GB RAM memory upgrade, so I'd have a 2 GB memory. It's because I use alot of heavy software simultaniously, like Illustrator, Photoshop, etc etc.

Should I indeed buy it with the 1 GB memory upgrade so it would come with 2 GB memory? What are the advantages? Does it make it faster?

Thanks

Charlotte

fleurya 04-27-2007 02:25 PM

So, you're trying to decide between purchasing with 1 GB and upgrading to 2 GB yourself or buying with 2GB?

I bought mine with 1 GB and upgraded to 2 GB myself because it was cheaper, but buying with the upgrade gets you a faster processor and more video RAM. It sounds like you could use all that, so if you have the money, I'd get the upgraded MBP. I wouldn't get the upgrade to 3 GB. At $575, you can definitely buy cheaper in the aftermarket.

Apple does need to upgrade some of its components. The graphics card is very dated already.

VanillaEps 04-27-2007 03:39 PM

Much cheaper to upgrade yourself. Order the memory at the same time as your purchase. Install the extra memory as soon as you receive it.

Charlotte_RG 04-28-2007 05:41 PM

Hi