New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

iBook - Memory help

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

teknic

teknic is on a distinguished road

I know it might sound silly to some people here but Im still learning my way around macs.
I have a 40 GB ibook g4 in which I have over 4000 songs and a few hundreds pics. I do not want to erase neither of those files.
lately Im getting a message over and over again that says my startup disk is full and I need to make more space for the system to work properly.
What can I do?
QUOTE Thanks
XMARLTONX

XMARLTONX has a spectacular aura about
Mac Specs: 3.06 iMac i3|12GB|500GB

What format are your songs in? AAC takes up less space than mp3, so you could convert them.

You could also run an application such as Monolingual and remove unwanted languages, some people save 2-3GBs.

Also, are there programs on your Mac that you dont use? You could uninstall them.
QUOTE Thanks
bryphotoguy

bryphotoguy is just really nicebryphotoguy is just really nicebryphotoguy is just really nicebryphotoguy is just really nicebryphotoguy is just really nice
Mac Specs: Quad 2.8GHz Mac Pro, Edge iPhone

You have to get rid of files. Just get rid of what you do not need first. That's really all you can do.

January 2008 Member of the Month
QUOTE Thanks
rman