Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Apple Notebooks (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-notebooks/)
-   -   Just added the 3rd GB of Memory....WOW.... (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-notebooks/60086-just-added-3rd-gb-memory-wow.html)

DeathtoToasters 04-20-2007 09:08 PM

Just added the 3rd GB of Memory....WOW....
 
Well I was running into some issues with trying to run Vista in parallels, with only 2 MB, things were REALLY slow.

So I was thinking about buying a 2GB stick from newegg for a while. So I took the plunge.

2GB Patriot Stick for $219 from Newegg. I live in souther cali so it was next day delivery, for ground price.

Put it in today and things are just flying.

The system thrives on more memory.

Now for the records I added the extra memory for the ability to run Vista, not because the macbook needed it.

Anyway, that stick was so cheap, I had to do it.

Everything runs at 667 MHz. The other stick is the stock Samsung that apple put in there.

I give my recommendations for anyone thinking about doing it!

flilow06 04-21-2007 01:02 AM

How about when just using OSX, any noticeable differences there?

DeathtoToasters 04-21-2007 01:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by flilow06 (Post 376724)
How about when just using OSX, any noticeable differences there?

I want to say that there is...but it may be a tainted opinion.

Plus there is a 'THING' about having 3GB in my computer :bushman:

RONE 04-21-2007 10:27 AM

What are the specs on your MBP?

DeathtoToasters 04-21-2007 10:35 AM

17" Screen
2.33 GHz Core 2 Duo
3 GB 667 DDR2 SDRAM
ATI 256 MB Radeon X1600
160 GB HD

kgeier82 04-21-2007 11:34 AM

i had the opportunity to try a 2gb stick for free for a total of 3gb.

for day to day stuff, no way there is a difference from my 2gb.

as for photoshop and stuff, only if you use the extra ram. which i never do.

conclusion: dont waste the money on the 3gb total.

DeathtoToasters 04-21-2007 12:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kgeier82 (Post 376963)
i had the opportunity to try a 2gb stick for free for a total of 3gb.

for day to day stuff, no way there is a difference from my 2gb.

as for photoshop and stuff, only if you use the extra ram. which i never do.

conclusion: dont waste the money on the 3gb total.

I agree with Day to Day stuff you are not going to see anything that is very different.

If you need to run 2 OS's, parallels, vmware, etc. It is MORE then useful.If you are running photoshop, etc..I can see it being VERY useful.

I also find it very useful when ripping dvd's with handbrake, or mac the ripper.

When using iDVD or iMovie it is also very useful.

So I would not call it a waste of money.

wheels5894 04-21-2007 12:51 PM

So, how much memeory does OS X need to run smoothly and quickly? Is 1GB enough fr normal things or is 2GB needed?

DeathtoToasters 04-21-2007 01:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by wheels5894 (Post 377009)
So, how much memeory does OS X need to run smoothly and quickly? Is 1GB enough fr normal things or is 2GB needed?

1 GB should be fine....

Something I always keep in mind, is that most people who may download a program or two from the net. Will eventually download programs that will have memory leaks. This includes mainstream products like Firefox, Entourage etc.

Then again most people who use computers don't even know what a memory leak is or how to check for one.

Basically I like having my computer maxed out if possible...that way I know I can do what I want with less restriction in the future.

kilo15 04-21-2007 01:03 PM

Will I ever be able to add 3GB to my macbook?

wheels5894 04-21-2007 01:05 PM

Thanks! I am familiar with the huge hunger Windows has for memory and am using 2GB but expected OSX to need less.

DeathtoToasters 04-21-2007 01:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kilo15 (Post 377019)
Will I ever be able to add 3GB to my macbook?

NEVER!!!

Yes of course you can. all you need to do is remove the battery (which pops out) and unscrew the 4 screws you will see. Then remove the cover and there you go. VERY easy and harmless.

DeathtoToasters 04-21-2007 01:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by wheels5894 (Post 377020)
Thanks! I am familiar with the huge hanger Windows has for memory and am using 2GB but expected OSX to need less.

It does need less. What I ran into is that I had 2 GB total. I set parallels for 1 GB FOR XP OR VISTA when they were running. Leaving only 1 GB for the main OSX system.

Well normally I have about 10 programs opened so it ate that up pretty quickly.

That was my situation.

Now I always have about 775 MB to 1 GB free.

GulfVetSAF 04-21-2007 02:44 PM

OK, just double checking, but you're saying I can upgrade my macbook to 3GB? Once I get your response I'm going to check out the removing battery suggestion... I'm assuming there's another slot there for an additional stick? I wasn't aware of this.

OSURico112 04-21-2007 04:46 PM

The macbook has 2 memory slots so you would need 1x2gb Card and a 1x1GB card with matching speeds. I have heard that the macbook supports 3gb because the intel core 2 duos support it so it shouldn't be a problem. So if you currently have 2gb of ram in your macbook you'd basically lose one since there'd be no where to put it.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:57 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.