Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Apple Notebooks (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-notebooks/)
-   -   MacBook Memory??!! (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-notebooks/55117-macbook-memory.html)

deathtolife04 03-01-2007 02:13 PM

MacBook Memory??!!
 
OK so sometime late last year I bought the middle-level macbook. The $1300 one. It's supposed to have a 1 GB memory. But when I click on "about this mac", it says it only has 512 MB!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I JUST now noticed this. I KNOW I bought the middle-level one. It has a DVD burner....

But what the heck did I get screwed on memory or what?!

Amen-Moses 03-01-2007 02:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by deathtolife04 (Post 338147)
OK so sometime late last year I bought the middle-level macbook. The $1300 one. It's supposed to have a 1 GB memory. But when I click on "about this mac", it says it only has 512 MB!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I JUST now noticed this. I KNOW I bought the middle-level one. It has a DVD burner....

But what the heck did I get screwed on memory or what?!

What does it say in the Memory section of the Hardware info (i.e after you click More Info ...?

If it reports 1 bank of 512Mb, power down, take out the battery and take off the little panel inside and see how many sticks are in it. One of them could be unseated or broken or plain missing. If the latter moan at Apple. ;)

Amen-Moses

deathtolife04 03-01-2007 02:45 PM

Here's what it says:

Machine Name: MacBook
Machine Model: MacBook1,1
Processor Name: Intel Core Duo
Processor Speed: 2 GHz
Number Of Processors: 1
Total Number Of Cores: 2
L2 Cache (per processor): 2 MB
Memory: 512 MB
Bus Speed: 667 MHz
Boot ROM Version: MB11.0061.B03
SMC Version: 1.4f12
Serial Number: 4H6325PYU9C
Sudden Motion Sensor:
State: Enabled



I'll shut down and see what's going on.
Then i'll post...

pacman 03-01-2007 02:50 PM

I believe you have a Core Duo (instead of Core2Duo). The mid level model had 512MB from factory. You must have two 256MB sticks inside.

deathtolife04 03-01-2007 02:52 PM

What does that mean exactly??
Did I get screwed if I paid $1300 for it?????

deathtolife04 03-01-2007 02:53 PM

I didn't see what "sticks" you were talking about...

Jonnyfive 03-01-2007 03:00 PM

Deathtolife04, It is a recent thing that the mid level macbook core 2 duos comes with 1 gig of ram. The 1st gen (which is probably what you have) mid level core duo only came with 512mb.

Your not missing a stick, they've just been upgraded when the processors where upgraded for the 2nd gen macbooks

deathtolife04 03-01-2007 03:02 PM

OOOOOOOOH OK.
GOOD TO KNOW!
I'm bummed I don't have the extra memory.
But I can live with it.
THANKS FOR THE INFO EVERYONE!



<3 JAMIE

Amen-Moses 03-01-2007 03:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by deathtolife04 (Post 338187)
OOOOOOOOH OK.
GOOD TO KNOW!
I'm bummed I don't have the extra memory.
But I can live with it.
THANKS FOR THE INFO EVERYONE!



<3 JAMIE


When you click on the More Info button you get a Hardware tab on the left, about half way down is 'Memory', click on that and it will show you exactly how much in what slots etc.

For example mine has:
"BANK 0/DIMM0 ...... 1GB DDR2 SDRAM 667MHz
BANK 1/DIMM1 ...... 1GB DDR2 SDRAM 667Mhz"

Sorry to rub it in. ;)

Amen-Moses

deathtolife04 03-01-2007 04:22 PM

LOL
that's alright.

yeah you guys were right i have 2 256 slots.

Jonnyfive 03-01-2007 04:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by deathtolife04 (Post 338253)
LOL
that's alright.

yeah you guys were right i have 2 256 slots.

It's OK, I bet they are nice 256 slots.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:08 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.