New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus • Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts • Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

 
Start a Discussion
 

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

MacBook Pro - kernel panic and 'arhive and install'


Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

 
Thread Tools
rerks

 
Member Since: Nov 03, 2006
Posts: 51
rerks is on a distinguished road

rerks is offline
i ran into a kernel panic yesterday and force restarted the mac. then it booted up to a blue screen! i cant boot into safe mode (it just shutsdown while i hold shift), i ran a fsck in single user mode(that didnt work), tried all the apple troubleshooting for booting up to a blue screen (didnt work) and then i repaired disk permissions. NO LUCK!!!! any ideas??

i also wanto try an archive and install before i take it to the apple shop. my question being when i choose archive and install do i check or uncheck 'Preserve Users and Network Settings' to have all of my third party apps working when i finish. on this page a guy asks the same question. in the answer the replyee says to uncheck the box and your /Applications folder want be deleted. im confused! will this work? is he talking about the actual applications folder in your home folder (where all your apps are installed) want be deleted if you uncheck the box or will an applications folder in you HD (/Applications) wont be deleted i.e. you have to put all your apps including the third party ones in the /Applications folder on your HD, not your home folder???? please help!!!
QUOTE Thanks
rerks

 
Member Since: Nov 03, 2006
Posts: 51
rerks is on a distinguished road

rerks is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by rerks View Post
on this page a guy asks the same question.
sorry here is the page: http://forums.macrumors.com/archive/...p/t-69204.html
QUOTE Thanks
rerks

 
Member Since: Nov 03, 2006
Posts: 51
rerks is on a distinguished road

rerks is offline
please anyone?
QUOTE Thanks
sixslinger

 
Member Since: Aug 16, 2006
Posts: 240
sixslinger will become famous soon enough
Mac Specs: 2.0 GHz Macbook Pro, 1.5 GB RAM.....1.83 GHz Macbook 1 GB RAM

sixslinger is offline
leave that box checked
QUOTE Thanks
NanoBite

 
Member Since: Oct 27, 2005
Posts: 4,714
NanoBite is an unknown at this point

NanoBite is offline
As sixslinger advises ^^^. If you are performing an "Archive & Install" you are already preserving your data and reinstalling the OS. You would want to preserve as much as you can.

You may already have read these tutorials, but just to be on the safe side:

http://www.thexlab.com/faqs/archiveinstall.html
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=107120
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=25508



Quote:

Archive and Install

Select this option if you want to install a fresh system on your computer.
“Archive and Install” moves your existing Mac OS X System files to a folder named Previous System, then installs a new copy of Mac OS X on the selected volume.
Mac OS X–installed applications, such as Address Book and Safari, are archived and new versions are installed in the Applications folder.
Unless you choose “Preserve Users and Network Settings,” user accounts and their home folders are also archived in the Previous System folder.

Preserve Users and Network Settings:

Select this checkbox to import your existing user accounts, home folders, and network settings into the new system. User accounts include such things as:

Home folders and their contents
Preference settings
Address Book databases
Browser favorites

Network settings and locations
“Preserve Users and Network Settings” also copies the existing /Users/Shared folder to your new system.
Note: You cannot start up your computer using the Previous System folder, but settings, preference files, fonts, plug-ins, and other items remain available in case you need them.
Some applications, plug-ins, and other software may have to be reinstalled after an “Archive and Install.” Fonts that were installed in the /Library/Fonts folder can be installed in your new system by copying them from the Previous System folder.
QUOTE Thanks
rerks

 
Member Since: Nov 03, 2006
Posts: 51
rerks is on a distinguished road

rerks is offline
thanks for the advice. but the guy from that forum that i listed ran into no problems with his apps after not checking the box? am i missing something?
QUOTE Thanks
NanoBite

 
Member Since: Oct 27, 2005
Posts: 4,714
NanoBite is an unknown at this point

NanoBite is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by rerks View Post
thanks for the advice. but the guy from that forum that i listed ran into no problems with his apps after not checking the box? am i missing something?
rerks, you're not missing anything. Have a read of this article:

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=107297
QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


« resolution question | Powerbook G4 1.67 sleep problem »
Thread Tools

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:07 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
X

Welcome to Mac-Forums.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this community the ultimate source for your Mac since 2003!


(4 digit year)

Already a member?