Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Apple Notebooks (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-notebooks/)
-   -   MacBook Pro and Final Cut Studio (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-notebooks/39534-macbook-pro-final-cut-studio.html)

bee_charmer79 08-10-2006 01:34 PM

MacBook Pro and Final Cut Studio
 
Hi all,

Well I've been pouring over these message boards and found them quite useful. Thanks! Here's my question...

I'm looking to buy a new mac (i've been a pc user up to this point), specifically I'm looking at the macbook pro and the new xeon quad tower (g5 replacement). My main purpose is video editing and some graphic work. I will be purchasing the Final Cut Studio 5.1 suite for this purpose.

I was all set on getting the macbook pro, and then the new xeon tower came out, and now I'm not sure what to get.

I like the portability of the laptop, but I like the expandability of the desktop. I guess my question is, do both systems handle the FCP suite the same? Has anyone been using a MBP with the FCP 5.1? Has anyone encountered any difficulties running FCP on the MBP??

If the MBP can run FCP fine, then I'm quite content to purchase that one.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Graphite 08-10-2006 01:38 PM

Both system will run FCP just fine. However, the MacPro will run it faster, render faster, etc. The MacBook Pro will run it fast, render fast, etc.

The MacPro will be able to last you longer with out an upgrade also.

bee_charmer79 08-10-2006 01:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Graphite
Both system will run FCP just fine. However, the MacPro will run it faster, render faster, etc. The MacBook Pro will run it fast, render fast, etc.

The MacPro will be able to last you longer with out an upgrade also.


Are MacBook Pro's upgradeable once you have them? Specifically graphic cards?

MacMania55 08-10-2006 01:50 PM

No I dont think you can upgrade the gfx card on the MBP.

Graphite 08-10-2006 01:56 PM

well later down when a better card comes out.. it will be possible, but very hard to upgrade it.

trpnmonkey41 08-10-2006 01:56 PM

The only things upgradeable in the MBP is the Memory and the HD (Pretty sure that is user replaceable)


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:16 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.