New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus • Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts • Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

MacBook Pro - Buying 15 inch MBP...need advice!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

green6767

green6767 is on a distinguished road

This will be my first Mac ever...I am switching from the PC world and this MBP will be replacing my desktop PC for college. I am a medical student, so this computer will be used alot for notes, presentations, multi-tasking, internet, email, and other normal functions. Some light graphic work and photo work may also be done aswell. As far as upgrades go, 2 Gigs of Ram, 100 GB@ 7200 RPM HD, wireless mouse, and MS Office for Mac so far. Here are my questions from a newb to the MAC world:

Two things I needed from my PC were: MS Office with Powerpoint and Word and IE with Outlook Express. I have found out that I can get MS Office for Mac, so that takes care of that. As far as IE...is that supported with Mac, and how can I get that? Do I have to run Windows on my mac to get IE and Outlook Express? Which bring me to my next question.