New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus • Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts • Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

Macbook - Powerbook G4 vs. MacBook

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

MacAddict06

MacAddict06 is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: Powerbook G4, iMac G5, 20GB iPod

I am new to hear and I currently own a Powerbook G4. I am thinking about selling it and getting a MacBook. But I would like to know what the difference is between the Powerbook G4 and a MacBook. I would also like to know the difference between running VPC on a Powerbook and having Windows on a MacBook.

Any and all help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks
Mike
QUOTE Thanks
sharpie05

VPC on a powerbook is going to be incredibly slow, i think. the macbook can run os x and windows natively, resulting in full speed for both(i might add that windows is blazingly fast on a mac). the macbook has a dual core processor, theoretically giving it twice the power as a single processor. Better battery life(but not by much), built in iSight camera, and it looks prettier if you get the white one(black one gets dirty really easy). the only downside to the macbook is that the screen ghosts really bad(i guess it is inherent in glossy screen notebooks). a powerbook-to macbook would be a great switch in my opinion!
QUOTE Thanks
EDIT-XTREEM

EDIT-XTREEM has a spectacular aura about

What are the specs of the powerbook so i can give you a comparison