New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

Macbook - New MacBook memory

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

lem144

Hey everyone. I am new to the MacBook family, as I am in the process of replacing my 15" 1.25 Al PB with the MacBook I picked up last night. I bought the mid-range model and a 400GB external HDD for DVD ripping.

Anyway, my question is this. I don't want to spend $600 on Apple's 2GB of RAM, so I ordered the recommended RAM on MacMall, but I've never heard of it before which scares me.

2GB Kit (2 X1GB) DDR2 PC2-5300 SODIMM Memory Upgrade for Apple Mac Mini 1.5GHZ/1.67GHZ Intel Core Duo

That is the detail of the memory. I know it says MacMini, but the guy at the Apple Store said the MacBook uses the same RAM as the MacMini CoreDuo.

They also told me I'd void part of my warranty if the ram socket gets fried in a power surge. I ordered that RAM above for $274, saving over $300. I can't justify spending $600 in RAM on a $1100 computer. That is just ludicrous.
QUOTE Thanks
MJGUK

Yep that is the correct memory, as far as I can see

And you're right, $600 is a lot for RAM when you paid $1100 for the computer :O

Anyway enjoy your new MacBook, you must be one of the first people here to get one! Well one of the first in the world actually!

Could you possibly show us some pics when you get a chance? ^_^
QUOTE Thanks
lem144