New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

Processor difference AMD/Intel vs. GX

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

mschief02

I'm a newb to mac's. I'm just wondering what are the technical differences between an AMD/Intel vs. GX. Is an AMD 933Mhz run the same speed as a G4 933 Mhz?
QUOTE Thanks
trpnmonkey41

trpnmonkey41 is a splendid one to beholdtrpnmonkey41 is a splendid one to beholdtrpnmonkey41 is a splendid one to beholdtrpnmonkey41 is a splendid one to beholdtrpnmonkey41 is a splendid one to beholdtrpnmonkey41 is a splendid one to beholdtrpnmonkey41 is a splendid one to beholdtrpnmonkey41 is a splendid one to behold
Mac Specs: 20" iMac C2D 2.16ghz, 13" MacBook 2.0ghz, 60gb iPod vid, 1gb nano

This movie will answer your questions

mHz Myth
QUOTE Thanks
mschief02

Great thanks!!! that helped a lot. I never realized that a G4 would be that much more efficeint than a Pentium. I love my ibook even more!!
QUOTE Thanks
shadov

Nice propaganda!

Ofcourse they are playing with numbers to make G4 look cooler than it is. And I'm sure their test program was carefully crafted to take advantage of the strong points of G4. They don't talk about branch prediction. I'm sure both processors do good job in guessing where the program is going to jump next. But there are other types of pipeline hazards and longer pipeline makes them much harder to avoid.