Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Apple Notebooks (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-notebooks/)
-   -   Problems connecting to Samsung monitor (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-notebooks/306810-problems-connecting-samsung-monitor.html)

MarniAn2 12-17-2013 04:56 AM

Problems connecting to Samsung monitor
 
Hey...My partner and I just bought new MacbookPro computers. When we brought them back to the office and tried to connect them to our Samsung monitors (2 different monitors using both HDMI and DVI connectors) nothing happens. They monitors are not being recognized by the computers and the screens do nothing.

Anyone have this problem? Since its happening with both computers and both monitors, we guess that this must be a larger problem.

bobtomay 12-17-2013 05:54 AM

Did you press the button on the monitor to change the input to match the one you had connected to?

MarniAn2 12-17-2013 07:01 AM

There isn't a button like this.

bobtomay 12-17-2013 07:07 AM

Suggest looking again - perhaps not, it is Samdung after all - but, there is a button for that on every monitor I've seen that has more than one input - if not, how would you tell the monitor which input you want it to use if you have more than one device connected to it...

Which monitor is this - model?
What adapter and cables are you using?

Have you disconnected and reconnected them - making sure they are all plugged in tight?

Have you opened System Preferences - Displays?

Is the monitor plugged in and turned on?
What happens if you turn the monitor off and back on while connected to the MBP?

chscag 12-17-2013 02:59 PM

Quote:

There isn't a button like this.
As bobtomay stated... yes there is. It's located on your remote control and called "input source". It may also be on the side panel but not knowing which model you have, you'll just have to look. But it's on the remote for sure.

bobtomay 12-17-2013 06:09 PM

Instead of a separate button - try the button for the main settings for brightness, etc... and see if one of the options there is 'Input Source' or something to that effect.

Would think most monitors over the past few years would have an auto detect if only one device is plugged in.

chscag 12-17-2013 07:24 PM

Quote:

Would think most monitors over the past few years would have an auto detect if only one device is plugged in.
Samsung does not fall in the category of "most monitors". :P

pigoo3 12-17-2013 07:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by chscag (Post 1557131)
Samsung does not fall in the category of "most monitors". :P

Don't get me started with "Samdung"!;) lol

- Nick

Slydude 12-17-2013 08:54 PM

Samsung's markings on their monitors are dang hard to read. Generally very tiny and done in a shade that does not stand out well from the surrounding area. Common place to look is in the lower right corner near the power button.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:09 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.